Driving with a suspended license in the United States is a serious crime and can lead to strict penalties. Many drivers can fall into this category where they are driving around without even knowing their license is suspended, and as we said, it is dangerous, and it’s a crime to do so. The good news is that there are ways someone can check if their license is suspended by doing a driver’s license check. Therefore, this article will discuss how to check if your license is suspended online, how to reinstate that suspended license, etc.
How To Check If Your License Is Suspended Online
Someone driving with a suspended license can face some time in prison and can also be fined, but you can avoid all of this by just doing a driver’s license check. There are various ways you can check to see if your license is suspended, but we will delve into how to do so online.
It all boils down to which state you reside in; each state is different regarding the penalties of a suspended license.
To check if your license is suspended online, you need to visit the DMV (department of motor vehicles) website and select the state in which you have that license issued. By getting this done, you first need to verify your identity, and after, you should be able to see if your license is suspended or not. If your license is suspended, there should also be a valid reason why it was suspended.
What To Do If Your License Is Suspended
Don’t panic! Having a suspended license is temporary. If your license is suspended, you can have this suspension removed. Please note you should not drive with a suspended license because you can lose all your driving privileges, and above all, it’s illegal.
If your license is suspended, the first thing you may need to do is to create an account online by visiting your state’s DMV website. After you have created the account, you may need to provide some personal information, like your:
- Date of birth
- Social security number
- Driver’s license number
- Personal email address
- Telephone number
Don’t overthink it too much because your information will be secure, and this is a way to maintain that your driver’s record is private. Once you have created your account, you pay a fee to see the status of your driver’s record, and you can also print a copy. Also, note that each state is different regarding the amount you have to pay to see your driver’s record online.
How To Get Your License Reinstated If It’s Suspended
Before the motor vehicle department gives you your driver’s license, you must get some things done before you’re on your way to getting the license back. Now, each state has different laws regarding the reinstatement of the license, and it also depends on the type of infraction you’ve had.
Some states require you to pay specific fees before getting your license reinstated. There are various payment rates in different states, and the cost is calculated based on the type of infraction. Some states charge you more money to get your license reinstated based on whether it’s your first time having your license suspended or on numerous occasions. Here is a list of some states and the price range of their license reinstatement fees:
- Massachusetts – $100.00 – $1200.00
- Florida – Approximately $45
- Michigan – Ranges from $25 up to $125
- Wyoming – $50
- Maryland – Ranges from $20 up to $72
- Alabama – Ranges from $100 and up
- Montana – $100
- Oklahoma – $290
You must also get insurance in some states before having your license reinstated. The SR-22 form or the FR-44 insurance forms are a requirement, and these are documents of financial responsibility that you need to get before having your license reinstated. Not all auto insurance providers issue these forms, but persons can easily purchase them from another insurance agent.
Some persons may have had a suspended license for a DUI or by maybe just terrible driving. In some states, it’s required that you go to a DUI program where you will be educated on the dangers of using alcohol and drugs while driving. The course would usually last for several hours, and you have to pay before taking this course.
Furthermore, depending on which state you reside in, you may also have to attend a defensive driving course program, and you will again learn about proper driving skills, the safety measures while driving, etc.
The Consequences Of Driving With a Suspended License
Driving with a suspended license is dangerous, and it’s also a criminal offense. Doing so can lead you some jail time and fines up to $2,500 or more. For those who got charged multiple times with suspended licenses, their penalties would be harsher than first-time offenders.