The Law Dictionary

Your Free Online Legal Dictionary • Featuring Black’s Law Dictionary, 2nd Ed.

NAPOLEONIC LAW Definition & Legal Meaning

Definition & Citations:

France’s Law. Rather than legal theories and principles, it is based largely on common sense rules. Five major codes comprise it: (1) Civil code, (2) Civil procedure Code, (3) Penal code, (4) Criminal procedure Code, and (5) Commercial code. In 1804 the French emperor Napoleon Bonaparte (1769-1821) instituted it, distinguished by its religious tolerance and land emancipation. It is derived from Roman law. Also known as Napoleonic code.


This article contains general legal information but does not constitute professional legal advice for your particular situation. The Law Dictionary is not a law firm, and this page does not create an attorney-client or legal adviser relationship. If you have specific questions, please consult a qualified attorney licensed in your jurisdiction.