The Law Dictionary

Your Free Online Legal Dictionary • Featuring Black’s Law Dictionary, 2nd Ed.

HEPTARCHY Definition & Legal Meaning

Definition & Citations:

A government exercised by seven persons or a nation divided into seven governments. In the year 500, seven different monarchies had been formed in England by the German tribes, namely, that of Kent by the Jutes; those of Sussex, Wessex, and Essex by the Saxons; and those of East Anglia, Bernicia, and Deira by the Angles.To these were added, about the year 580, an eighth, called the “Kingdom of Mereia,” also founded by the Angles, and comprehending nearly the whole of the heart of the kingdom. These states formed what has been designated the “Anglo-Saxon Octarchy,” or more commonly, though not so correctly, the “Anglo-Saxon Heptarchy,” from the custom of speaking of Deira and Bernicia under the single appellation of the”Kingdom of Northumberland.” Wharton.


This article contains general legal information but does not constitute professional legal advice for your particular situation. The Law Dictionary is not a law firm, and this page does not create an attorney-client or legal adviser relationship. If you have specific questions, please consult a qualified attorney licensed in your jurisdiction.