What is FRANC ZONE (ZF)?

This monetary union uses the abbreviated ZF after its French name, ‘Zone Franc.’ A union of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. These French-speaking countries have linked economies to the French franc at a fixed rate of exchange.

More On This Topic

Link to This Definition
Did you find this definition of FRANC ZONE (ZF) helpful? You can share it by copying the code below and adding it to your blog or web page.
Written and fact checked by The Law Dictionary