The Law Dictionary

Your Free Online Legal Dictionary • Featuring Black’s Law Dictionary, 2nd Ed.

SIX ACTS, Definition & Legal Meaning

Definition & Citations:

THE. The acts passed in 1819, for the pacification of England, are so called. They, in effect prohibited the training of persons to arms; authorized general searches and seizure of arms; prohibited meetings of more than fifty persons for the discussion of public grievances; repressed with heavy penalties and confiscations sedi- tious and blasphemous libels; and checked pamphleteering by extending the newspaper stamp duty to political pamphlets. Brown.


This article contains general legal information but does not constitute professional legal advice for your particular situation. The Law Dictionary is not a law firm, and this page does not create an attorney-client or legal adviser relationship. If you have specific questions, please consult a qualified attorney licensed in your jurisdiction.