The Law Dictionary

Your Free Online Legal Dictionary • Featuring Black’s Law Dictionary, 2nd Ed.

EUROPEAN MONETARY UNION (EMU) Definition & Legal Meaning

Definition & Citations:

The monetary system of member European nations that is based on coordinated management of INTEREST RATES, FOREIGN EXCHANGE rates, and INFLATION. The EMU created the EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK to guide its policies, and developed and introduced the EURO as its core currency. The original 11 original participating countries Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Ireland, Luxembourg, Portugal, and Spain were joined by Greece in 2003.


This article contains general legal information but does not constitute professional legal advice for your particular situation. The Law Dictionary is not a law firm, and this page does not create an attorney-client or legal adviser relationship. If you have specific questions, please consult a qualified attorney licensed in your jurisdiction.