In order to get a permit for concealed carry in Washington state, you need to meet several licensing requirements. These requirements include that you be 21 or older, be a lawful U.S. citizen or permanent resident, have never been declared mentally incompetent, convicted of a felony or drug charge, aren’t subject to any court orders, outstanding warrants or pending trials that would prohibit you from having a license, and have no domestic violence convictions.
You may also not register for concealed carry in Washington if you have ever renounced your U.S. citizenship or been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
If you do not meet these requirements, you must petition the court where you were convicted. This may require the assistance of an attorney.
The Concealed Carry Permit Process
The first step is figuring out where to pick up your application. If you live in an unincorporated part of the state, you can apply at your county sheriff’s office. Otherwise, you may pick up your application at your local police department. You will need your driver’s license and other personal identification information as well as a $60 fee so the police department can conduct a background check. Members of the U.S. Armed Forces must also bring their military I.D. and station orders. You will also be subjected to fingerprinting.
Once you’ve filed this paperwork, it will take up to 30 days to process. If you are a non-resident, it may take as long as two months. When you receive your permit in the mail, it is a good idea to get it laminated, as you will need to carry it on your person at all times when you carry your concealed weapon or keep a weapon in your vehicle.
Rules and Regulations Regarding Concealed Carry
Once you have your permit, be known that it lasts for five years, and it is your responsibility to get it renewed when it expires. Washington State does not require you to register your weapons, though they are very serious about keeping an up-to-date permit on you at all times. Washington enjoys concealed carry license reciprocity with the following states: Arkansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Utah.
Certain areas are off limits for concealed carry in Washington state, even if you have a permit. These areas include restricted access areas of jails, airports and public mental health facilities, areas of courtrooms used for court proceedings, and areas of restaurants or bars where liquor is served.