One accused expressed how useless an attorney would be for something like this, and wanted to represent his or her self. Excellent. So, what to expect, in California for a misdemeanor hit-and-run on a parked car is the following, as expressed in CA Vehicle Code (VC) 20002 VC:
- Up to three years of informal probation,
- Up to six months in a county jail,
- Up to $1,000 in fines plus court-assessed penalties,
- Restitution to any victim(s) whose property you damaged,
- Per the California DMV, two points on your driving record.
Expect the maximum. Why, one might ask? Because an individual how is not a lawyer and so arrogant as to believe that a lawyer is useless will likely show that attitude in court, anger the judge, and get justice … all of it. Along with this, there is CA VC 16025 that states in an accident the drivers of each car involved must exchange insurance and VIN, else pay an automatic maximum fine of $250.
In reality, unless truly serious circumstances exist, the accused will likely avoid being sentenced to any jail time for a first offense, if the loner accused can avoid angering the judge with attitude. If it is the accused’s first offense and no aggravating circumstances exist, such as alcohol or drug use, the accused may be allowed to plea in a civil compromise. What is a civil compromise in a California hit & run case, one might ask? Well, California Penal Code 1377 PC states that if a civil solution is an option to a person who has been injured as the result of an accused’s misdemeanor conduct, the case may be civilly compromised. If the judge allows the accused to participate under this code, the accused’s criminal charge alleging California misdemeanor hit and run will be dismissed once the accused has fully reimbursed the person(s) whose property the accused damaged. Might it be worthwhile to have a “useless” lawyer who could argue for the applicability of this statute in the accused’s favor? One might seriously think, “Yes!” This is about as close as a person can get to avoiding the conviction altogether. Otherwise, the accused must expect some probation, some jail time, paying some fine, definitely paying restitution, and having points put on one’s driving record.
Another experienced person wondered about the worth of a spotless record in the face of a district attorney seeking to give jail time just because …. With a lawyer on hand, some experts state that it will count for something.
A number of people had varying experiences with a misdemeanor on their record and applying for various law enforcement agencies. In general it seemed that the misdemeanor had very little impact as long as any penalties or community service or retributions were completed beforehand. This was the nature of Federal law. However, some particular agencies did reject candidates for that reason. When it came to state law enforcement agencies, as usual, state laws and rules varied, along with the various state agencies. The only clear advice is to consult with the agency of choice and find out one way or the other.
Read in: Spanish