Penalties Etc. for a Second Connecticut DUI

Written by James Hirby | Fact checked by The Law Dictionary staff |  

The following are clear cut bullets of what is the likely fallout from a 2nd DUI in Connecticut (CT) – taken from the text of the CT state law:

If 21 years or older

  • Jail time is up to two years, with a mandatory minimum of 120 consecutive days and probation with 100 hours community service
  • Fine of $1,000- $4,000
  • License Suspension 45 days, followed by three years of driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock

If under 21

  • Jail time is up to two years, with a mandatory minimum of 120 consecutive days and probation with 100 hours community service
  • Fine of $1,000- $4,000
  • License Suspension 45 days or until age 21, whichever is longer, followed by three years of driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock

This is in addition to the loss of license that is a mandatory minimum of one year if the BAC is over 1.6%.  A very interesting twist to the CT view of DUI is that any DUIs older than 10 years do not count for repeat offenders.  For an initial DUI offense the penalties are lighter.  In fact there is a mandatory provision to erase the DUI if the accused completes a special DUI focused education.

As usual many people have had terrible experiences personally with loved ones and with loss on both sides of the wheel in DUI situations.  There is very little sympathy expressed for the offenders, especially for a repeat offender.  Many people expressed distaste with the seemingly light penalties in CT, especially in light of the light punishment for first time offenders, and ten plus years later, again in light of the light punishment for first time offenders, and so on.  Commissioners in CT State can reinstate licenses, even on a 2nd DUI with the agreement to an interlock mechanism installation.  These interlock devices can be a great deterrent against repeat offenses, as long as the offender does not get someone else to blow into the device for them.  Might that happen?  CT mandated Ignition Interlocking Devices (IID) as of Jan. 1, 2012.   The mandate is for a 2nd time offender.  To drive at all, the offender must have and use an IID.  Such a device cost the offender $100 per month.  That has some hurt in it.  Statistics in CT show that up to 75% of convicted DUIs that lose their driver’s license continue to drive regardless.  The IID is a deterrent.  It is required to be re-calibrated every sixty days.  Failure to do so, or drive a car without an IID, or tamper with the IID, or have someone else blow into the IID allowing the offender to drive again while impaired, will all result in the offender losing the license without recourse.  Some experienced offenders related that even hardship is often ignored in violating IID rules.  One curiosity is that the IID can require random breathe retest of the offender and sends the information back to the probation officer.   Wonder what it would take to have a GPS bracelet mandated that would set off an alarm and signal the probation officer if the offender entered a bar or liquor store in the resident state?

More On This Topic



Comments are closed.