Best Way to Get a Permit to Carry a Concealed Weapon in North Carolina

Written by J. Hirby and Fact Checked by The Law Dictionary Staff  

The best and only way to get a concealed weapon permit in North Carolina is to complete a concealed weapon permit and take it to your local county sheriff's office. You can download the application into MS Word or Adobe Acrobat, complete it online, print it out, and take it to the sheriff's office. You can also print it out and complete it by hand. The sheriff's office may have applications available.

Before you submit the application, you must take a gun safety course approved by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission. Since many of these courses are taught at private gun ranges, prices for the course will vary from location to location.

You must call the county sheriff's office and make an appointment to apply for a concealed weapon permit. When you call, make sure you have your driver's license number and training certificate number handy.

When you arrive for your appointment, bring a valid North Carolina driver's license with your current address listed. Bring your completion certificate from your gun safety course. You will also need your social security number. Be sure to bring cash, money order, or certified check in the amount of $90. The application fee is non-refundable. The fee covers a criminal background check and fingerprinting fee. The state of North Carolina will also do a physical and mental health check on you. You may have to pay an additional fee to the company who performs the medical history research.

You must be at least 21 years old, live in the county for at least 30 days, and be a citizen or naturalized citizen of the United States. The state of North Carolina has a long list of people that will not be approved for a concealed weapons permit. For example, you must be free from felonies, prior weapons violations, child abuse charges, and current court cases.

After the date of your application, it can take three to four months to get all of your mental health records back. Once the sheriff has all of the information he or she needs, it can take another 45 days to receive your permit.

More On This Topic



Comments are closed.